Community Protection

FEMA Individual and Community Preparedness Award Accepting Applications

Do you know of an organization or an individual in Colorado that is doing great work?  Honor them by applying.  Everyday I am truly amazed at the work being completed by everyone in the state.  It is time to get some recognition for your efforts. In 2015 CUSP was honored with this award, now it’s time for all of us to show the nation all of the great work we are doing to move towards a more resilient and prepared future.  The application period for the 2017 FEMA Individual and Community Preparedness Awards will open Thursday, April 27, 2017. The awards highlight innovative local practices and achievements by honoring individuals, organizations, and jurisdictions that have made outstanding contributions toward strengthening their community to prepare for, respond to, recover from, and mitigate a disaster.

Emergency management is most effective when the entire community is engaged and involved. Everyone, including faith-based organizations, voluntary agencies, the private sector, tribal organizations, youth, people with disabilities and others with access and functional needs, and older adults can make a difference in their communities before, during, and after disasters.

FEMA and partners from the emergency management industry will review all entries and select the winners in each of the following categories:
– Outstanding Citizen Corps Council
– Community Preparedness Champions
– Awareness to Action
– Technological Innovation
– Outstanding Achievement in Youth Preparedness
– John. D. Solomon Whole Community Preparedness Award
– Outstanding Private Sector Initiatives
– Outstanding Community Emergency Response Team (CERT) Initiatives
– Outstanding Citizen Corps Partner Program
– Prepareathon in Action

Winners will be announced in the fall of 2017, and a series of webinars and local ceremonies will celebrate their achievements. To be considered for this year’s awards, all submissions must feature program activities taking place between Jan. 1, 2016, and May 30, 2017.

For more information visit –