West Metro Fire Rescue

West Metro Fire Rescue is an accredited, all-hazard fire department serving the communities of Lakewood, Wheat Ridge, Morrision, and parts of unincorporated Jefferson and Douglas counties along the west/southwestern edge of the Denver metro area. The West Metro Fire Rescue family is committed to protecting the community’s quality of life through prevention, preparedness, and all-hazards emergency response. They have 17 fire stations, nearly 400 uniform personnel, and serve a population of roughly 250,000 across 110 square miles. Much of the western edge of the district is located in areas classified as wildland-urban interface or intermix.

Key services:

  • Wildfire Response: all members are qualified wildland firefighters, and are deployed with engines to wildfire assignments within Colorado and across the US.
  • Resident & Community Mitigation: Firewise Community support and home assessments in collaboration with CSFS foresters, Community Engagement, Safety & Evacuation: educating and working with communities on evacuation planning and modeling.
  • Collaboration: participation in Fire Adapted Communities Learning Network, Fire Adapted Colorado, and a new Fire Adapted Community work group in Jefferson County, in order to learn from others and implement best practices.
Contact Us:
Follow Us Online: